What to do with all of that zucchini…


In checking my garden the other day, I came across some rather large zucchini attempting to hide under the leaves of their plant.  They had been taking hints from the cucumbers which were camouflaging themselves quite well.  Before they could plan a garden coup I picked them all.

I’ve had my fill of sauteed onions/peppers/zucchini and I’m not really into zucchini bread. I let my fingers do the walking through my recipe file for something tasty–possibly something my kids would eat–which would allow me to use up some of the little green monsters.  To my delight, I came across the following recipe, and altered it a bit.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1-1/2 cup milk
  • 2-1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup baking cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • Confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  • In a large bowl, beat the butter, sugars and oil until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla.
  • In another bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt; add to batter alternately with milk, beating well after each addition. Stir in zucchini.
  • Pour into a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking pan. Sprinkle with chocolate chips. Bake at 325° for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool. Dust with confectioners’ sugar. 
I plan to try this recipe on my kids this weekend.  Sshhhhhh….don’t tell them.    And, by the way, don’t forget to comment and be in the running for a free book!  Only two more days to get in on the contest–comment before midnight of August 20, 2011.
About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What to do with all of that zucchini…

  1. My mom makes this cake and my kids love it. She has BUNCHES of zucchini recipes, so you should talk to her…also, you can freeze it. I slice it thin, put it on my cookie sheet in a single layer and then when they freeze you put the slices in a bag. You can take it out for fried zucchini all winter long. I also shred it and freeze it for cake or bread later…

  2. Sylvia williams says:

    You should try the mock apple pie with the zucchini. Its priceless to see their face when you tell them it’s not apple

  3. Chris says:

    Love this cake!

Leave a Reply

