Joyful Moment #3: Rest


This morning I posted on facebook that my favorite place to be is my bed, and that sleeping is my preferred inactivity.  I can’t help it!  I’m not what you’d call a morning person.  In fact, I’m not a night person either.  I just love to curl up in my bed–sometimes with a good book, but most of the time just happily nestled against my husband, drifting off to dreamworld.  I like to hit the sheets early and sleep late.

The time of year has a little to do with it too.  During the summer, the windows are open and the sound of birds awakens me even before the sun rises.  I stay out in my garden until I can no longer distinguish weeds from flowers, and sit by a campfire until midnight.  Today, however, a cold rain falls.  Wind causes the rain to pelt the (closed) windows on the western side of the house, and falling leaves stick to the wet panes.  My bed now has a winter comforter, and the flannel sheets wait patiently in the linen closet for their turn.  The sun sleeps in a little longer each day as the Northern Hemisphere continues to tilt on our trip around the sun.

Eyes still closed, I awoke this morning to the sound of rain, pulled the comforter up to my chin, and tried to go back to sleep.  Alas, I hit the hay early last night, and my rest tank was full to the brim.  So, I sat up, grabbed my laptop, and started writing.

I love that the human body was created to need rest.  Getting a good night’s sleep is only one kind of rest necessary for good health.  We also need rest for our spirits.  Sometimes the stresses of everyday life creep into our sleep and, suddenly, we can’t even get physical rest!  Someone I know once made the statement that she’s always waiting for the other shoe to drop.  What a horrible way to live!  She can never rest because she’s in a constant state of worry.

Psalm 62:5 tells me where I can truly rest: “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.”  I’m not worried about tomorrow (Matthew 6:34).  I plan ahead, but I don’t wring my hands about the future, because I know Who is in charge.  I’m perfectly happy leaving all of the control in God’s hands, knowing that He will work everything out for good (Romans 8:28).

Rest.  Not just sleep, but true, complete rest.  It does a body & soul good.

About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

