Moment of Joy #9: Learning to Keep it Short


My last writing project was to write short devotionals.  Small, brief, annoyingly miniscule–120 words per, to be exact.  My current writing project is just a little longer–150 words.  Not much better, but still, 30 words more to allow for better descriptions and insight.

When I write, I am not a woman of few words.  Last fall I wrote a letter which took 6,290 words to get my point across, so to be shackled with a limit of 120 or 150 words is giving me fits.

Writing is a joyful experience for me.  I run free through the farthest reaches of my being, gathering words like wildflowers and arranging them into bouquets in a multitude of vessels, filling screen pages to overflowing.

I write until there are no more words to be picked or arranged.  The pages are decorated; the fragrance intoxicating.  I begin the process anew when the scent begins to fade.

Having a limit of 120 words makes me feel as if I am chained by the ankle to a sapling.  I’m forced to use a two-inch pencil to write on a 3×5 card.  I feel as though I’m skipping stones in a bathtub or trying to teach a bowling ball to fly.

At the word fly, I was already at 207 words.  Do you understand my frustration?  Do you feel my pain?

I shouldn’t complain at all, though, because I am being paid to do what I love.  How many people in the world can say that?

About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moment of Joy #9: Learning to Keep it Short

  1. mapplebee says:

    That is like asking a preacher to speak to a crowd of 1000 people for 5 minutes!

Leave a Reply

