Joyful Moment #12: Writing for a Newspaper


Yep, it’s true.  I’ve finally reached one of my goals.  On Tuesday, a gentleman from the Corry Journal called to ask if I’d be willing to write for a column titled “Talking Points.”  Historically, this is a column written by locals on topics that will appeal to locals.  A new arena for me, but I’m excited to scratch this item off of my bucket list.

I asked for specifics, such as the word count limit (750) and when it’s due (Thursday, noon).  By Wednesday evening I had completed my first article requested by a newspaper.  I’m really hoping this turns into a permanent gig.  There is nothing like a steady deadline to keep a person writing!

My current plan is to publish the articles here on my blog on the same day they are to be published in the paper.  So, the first one will appear tomorrow.  Please leave comments here, and if you’re local, please feel free to suggest topics for future talking points.

About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Joyful Moment #12: Writing for a Newspaper

  1. Joy says:

    Loved the piece on Hometown Country Fairs. Well done, Carol! Your enthusiasm is contagious.

  2. Vanesa K says:

    Congrats on getting to write for a newspaper!! What an honor to be asked!! Writing for a magazine is on my bucket list. =)

Leave a Reply

