Moment of Joy #15: The “To Do” List


 

The To Do list.  You’ve seen all versions of this list–hanging from the fridge by a magnet, an eye-catching long and skinny tablet.  To Do lists have even become high-tech apps, audibly reminding you as you pull out of the parking lot after work that, “You need to buy diapers on the way home.”

Well, none of those are right for me. I carry a college-lined notebook in my purse and I’ve filled page after page with things that must be done.  If it’s something that must be done immediately, I underline, box, or circle the entry.

So far, I don’t need to write in the things that are daily occurrences like taking the kids to sports practice or brushing my teeth.  Those events are such a part of daily life they are done automatically.  The entries in my current list include such items as “Pick up scholarship forms from the high school,” and “Call the vet about shots for the cat.”

Invariably I remember something I need to do at the most inconvenient time.  During church I remembered I need to send a get well card to a friend.  Notebook was handy, so I wrote it down.  Driving to visit my folks I remembered I need to call someone about hauling away our dead washing machine.  Notebook was handy, but I was driving.  No worries–at the first stop light, I wrote it down!

The time I seem to do the most thinking about what needs to be done is in those five between when my head hits the pillow and when I fall asleep.  Woe is me if there isn’t a pad of paper and a pencil on my night stand.  My husband has learned to stay asleep through repeated “lights on, lights off” incidents.

The most satisfaction I get from that To Do notebook is drawing a line through an entry.  It’s done!  Woohoo!  Things like “Buy toilet paper TODAY!” and “Finish writing deadline” are scratched off and I have that feeling of accomplishment.  Until the next time we run out of TP anyway.  And looking back through pages and pages of To Dos which turned into done gives me a warm  and fuzzy feeling inside.

About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moment of Joy #15: The “To Do” List

  1. Dawn Michelle Kalm says:

    I use my calendar for this. But I just may have to buy a notebook now. I wonder how fast I will fill it? They must love you at “back-to-school” time!!!

    • My calendar/planner wasn’t quite big enough–not enough room in those little boxes. I even graduated from a planner that was the size of a check book to one that’s 8&1/2×11, but those boxes still couldn’t hold the to do list. The notebook is the solution for me. 🙂

  2. lindaktaylor says:

    I sit every night and fill out a to-do list for the next day–really detailed down to what projects I have to work on, homework I have to do, little things I might forget. I have a different section for the stuff that has to be done “this week” or at least “fairly soon.” I look forward to the list because then I know that it’s all in one spot, in my datebook, and doesn’t have to remain in my head where it will surely rattle around and disappear. I just better not lose the datebook! 🙂

Leave a Reply

