Joyful Moment #23: Being Thankful When It Isn’t Easy


Sometimes it’s hard to be thankful. Sometimes life dashes hopes and dreams. Sometimes the prayers we pray don’t get answered in the way we want.

Sometimes we need to look a little harder at our circumstances and find the reasons to still be thankful.

For instance…

On Wednesday, my husband Bruce’s van wouldn’t start and he had an appointment he couldn’t miss.

Reasons to be thankful:

1) He tried to start it with enough time before his appointment that he could attempt to diagnose it, talk to neighbors for help, and call me at work.

2) Neighbors took the time to come over to try to jump-start it.

Nice try.

3) When the jump-start didn’t work, my boss allowed me to leave work to pick up Bruce so he could still get to his appointment on time.

4) A local mechanic was willing to stop by and diagnose the problem as well as tow (at no charge) the van to his garage where he will fix the problem.

Being down to one vehicle meant Bruce would have to take it on a two-day trip for work, leaving me with no transportation. And I needed to get to work as well.

Reasons to be thankful:
1) My parents live a mile-and-a-half from where I work.

2) They had no problem with me staying with them for the night.

3) The weather was beautiful on Thursday morning and I have two healthy legs which transported me to work.

Not an accurate representation of me in any way. Who walks to work in 5-inch heels?

4) My parents were kind enough to drive me home later that day.

Bruce received some sad news while he was away.

Reasons to be thankful:

1) We don’t understand why things happen the way they do, but we know God is in control.

2) We have friends who came along side of us and prayed right along with us, friends who encouraged us and reminded us that hope is what we live for.

3) While the prayers we prayed weren’t answered in the way we wanted, we know that there is a reason for everything. We might not know that reason this side of eternity, but that’s okay.

I sit re-reading what I just wrote and I see even much more for which I am thankful. I can read and write. I have electricity to operate my computer and the internet. I am sitting in a home provided by a loving husband and father to my kids. The home is messy, proving we spend time here and are creative people. My husband and I have jobs that meet our expenses. We have vehicles that get us to our jobs, transport our kids to schooling, and allow us to visit family.
And there are invisible—yet still tangible—things that make me thankful every day. God is in control. My husband is faithful. My children love us and each other.

Sometimes it’s hard to be thankful, but sometimes we just need to look past disappointments and see the amazing blessings all around us.

 

About Carol R. Fielding

I'm a happily married wife and home schooling mom of three amazing daughters. I am a freelance writer and have been published in various books over the past fifteen years. My most recent freelance job was "Extreme Bible Facts," a book for kids, and was published by Worthy Publishing and released in December, 2011, exclusively in Walmart stores. Currently, I write for The Corry Journal, the newspaper for the Corry, Pennsylvania, area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Joyful Moment #23: Being Thankful When It Isn’t Easy

  1. Joy Switala says:

    As a list maker, I love this post. “Logicking” out solutions to problems in this way is brilliant!

  2. I live by lists. Mostly to-do lists, but it seems to make sense to count your blessings in list form.

Leave a Reply

